Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

Happy Trails

EAST TWIN:

SONY DSC

IMG_2666

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

IMG_2680

IMG_2671

IMG_2676

IMG_2685

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

DSC00184SONY DSC

DSC00200

SONY DSC

IMG_2727

IMG_2661

IMG_2696

IMG_2697

While my sister was exploring the wilds of Houston, I went on a little adventure of my own. I’d been feeling the itch to get outside, to move my body and experience something new. So I hatched a plan to spend a couple of days hiking near Asheville. Since I haven’t done a trip like this on my own and rain was in the forecast, I researched a couple of day trails which were well traveled and within an hours drive of the city. I did set my heart on spending at least one day in the Brevard area, which is known for it’s waterfalls. Late summer is normally not a great time to visit, but my guess was that with the heavy rains we’ve had this year they’d be in full force, and that turned out to be the case.

Stella came with me, kitted out with her own back pack to carry some of our water and supplies. Ordinarily she gets a little twitchy when surrounded by trees but the pack seemed to give her a sense of purpose and she never slowed down even though we walked for hours both days. It was peaceful to be walking, no music or chatter from podcasts in my ears, just the sound of wind in the trees, birds, our feet on the trail. This quiet, the pre-dawn mist over downtown, the stark white gravel of the trail against the deep hues of the trees, finding the hot pink seed pod of an umbrella magnolia, and a dinner at Curate with a good book were highlights.

xo O

p.s. I haven’t identified all the wildflowers above but I think the yellow spikes in #3 are tall goldenrod, the lily in #6 is probably a turk’s cap (though they look very similar to the Carolina lily) and the mushrooms below it are cinnabar chanterelles.

6 Responses to “Happy Trails”

  1. betty

    i love that photo of stella on the trail. and you know i love curate. berenjenas la taberna!!

    Reply
    • oami powers

      So good right? I was worried about ordering too much, and ended up feeling like I should have tried more things…everything was so good.

      Reply
    • oami powers

      Thanks…yeah, I love Instagram as you know, but it was fun to get out the fancy camera again – I think you can tell which pictures I took with it . I was realizing the other day that I only have digital copies of photos now. Thinking of making prints of my favorites.

      Reply
  2. nerponline

    You saw some fascinating things….those crimson mushrooms are unreal, as is the white sand trail through the woods. Was it groomed, do you think, or is it naturally so pristine looking?

    Reply
    • oami powers

      Oh, those were groomed – the Parks employee I talked to at Dupont was really excited about them. The mushrooms are florescent orange in person and definitely unreal….

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

