Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

Weekend Life

EAST TWIN:

So far the winter here has been oddly balmy, I was still wearing open toed shoes (much to my sister’s dismay) two weeks ago. But then the temperature finally dropped, and Friday we had our first snow, or rather what the news was calling a ‘wintery mix’ – snow & sleet. The next morning everything was coated in a crystalline crust that crunched under foot. Magic.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

The azalea leaves each had their own jacket of ice which slid off as the day got warmer; K rescued a couple and put them in the freezer for me to see when I got home.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

(That little act of sweetness will get recorded on the list I started recently entitled “things I am grateful for today” and hung on my wall. Why? ‘Cause happy people do it.)

Inside its warmer, though hardly cozy. I’m usually still decked out in ugg boots (which are not as cute as these), one or two sweaters and drinking multiple cups of tea – my current favorite is a decaf red chai – or occasionally a hot chocolate. Guess it’s putting me in the mood to work on the Judah Ross Fall ’13 collection at least.

SONY DSC

My houseplants seem to be doing okay too, the shamrock that unexpectedly sprouted out of my aloe is taking over their pot and the bougainvillea which stubbornly refused to flower all summer is now blooming.

SONY DSCSONY DSC

It’s like my very own little piece of summer sun.

Another thing that makes me happy every time I see it (by NC artist Peter Butler):

IMG_0790

And this made me laugh and this was just totally cool (via Tracy Wilkinson).

And here’s the best new song we’ve discovered lately. I might have to listen to it while we’re cooking dinner tonight.

We’re making these AGAIN tonight along with black eyed peas and andioulle sausage. Perfect for a night like this:

SONY DSC

P.S. I’m still working on the tutorial ideas. In the meantime, for Rucha:  instructions for a DIY duvet covers.

13 Responses to “Weekend Life”

  1. kelly smith-tilly

    I love all your links, Oami! I’m listening to Oh I See right now. Very good. xoxo

    Reply
  2. Aunt Diana

    Hooray! Finally managed to see the blog. Locked out since the new look. Loved the non-running pug – and having you back in my life again.

    Reply
    • oami powers

      Yikes, I hope no one else is having the same problem, and that resubscribing fixed the issue…bugs! Love having you back!!

      Reply
  3. betty

    I love your renegade shamrock. it’s one of my favorite houseplants. and that molten pewter stool was very cool. (we’re going to have our own wintery mix today.)

    Reply
    • oami powers

      Ok, so the aloe was a gift from friends, the shamrock that hitched a ride is a pup of their grandfather’s plant – I’m honored that it’s doing so well with me. Also, after the wintery mix last week we had TORNADO warnings last night. Today the sky is blue and it’s warm enough that I left the house with out a scarf…craziness.

      Reply
  4. nerponline

    I hoped the Peter Butler painting was hanging on YOUR wall, but looking again it did seem unlikely you’d have a gallery information card pinned next to it. Too bad! It did remind me, though, of your long ago series of paintings of women’s foundation garments. They had a similar sassy spirit.

    Reply
    • oami powers

      I wish that painting was hung in my house. I told my boss that if it’s missing from the gallery one day she’ll know where to go looking.

      Reply
  5. ruchapowers

    I am sitting here enjoynng my first cup of coffee all week and the caffeine plus all these really great links is giving me a nice warm fuzzy feeling. I really enjoy these posts because I feel like you expose me to all these wonderful little tidbits that I would normally miss, stuck as I am with my head in the sands of motherhood. Thanks to you I’ve already made a list of happiness habits to practice, bought a new song on itunes, watched the pug vid numerous times and vowed to make some collard greens soon…and it’s only 9 a.m. Love ya sis. xoxoxo

    Reply
    • oami powers

      hehe. One of these days I have to film Rosie for you, some of the stuff she does is pretty funny, though not as good as Loca. I think I would never stop laughing if I had that pug in my house. Seriously you need to make those greens. One note – I don’t use the cooking water, I use 50% chicken and 50% beef stock. That plus the long cooking time (you can go over but don’t go under an hour) is what makes them so tender & sweet. Glad my procrastination browsing has some benefit for someone….:)

      Reply
    • oami powers

      I do too – that was such a bitterly cold and icy night. We bring the plants inside before the first frost. They actually love it inside, right in front of the heater vent & a big window. Wish they would bloom like that all year!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

