Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

Work in Progress

100 yards of bias tape, cut by hand (yikes!).

EAST TWIN:

Once, years ago, I toyed with the idea of starting a brick & mortar retail shop. In the process of thinking about it, I read a book (I think it might have been Small Business for Dummies or something along those lines) in which the author talked about how hard most small business owners work, many more hours than the average employee. I remember being intimidated; I loved to work, even then, but all the time? Then I met Ursula and she asked me to be a partner in modaspia and I threw myself into the business with a passion unmatched by anything I’ve done professionally before or since. And I loved it.

I worked hard: 7 days a week, 10-14 hours a day. When I wasn’t working on the business, I was working my side job as building manager of the apartment we lived in. When I wasn’t doing that, I was thinking and talking about the business. Modaspia was thriving, but after 4 years, predictably, I burnt out.

Reading list

 I recently started reading a book with the uninspiring title: The E-Myth Revisited: Why Most Small Businesses Don’t Work and What to Do About It.

The premise of the book as I understand it so far, is that most small businesses are started by people who have a skill and want to make a living from that skill. Because of that, they tend to focus on the work or the product that the business sells, rather than the enterprise itself, leading to the demise of the venture.  As the author puts it, they are Technicians rather than Entrepreneurs & Managers:

The Entrepreneurial Perspective asks the question: “how must the business work?” The Technician’s Perspective asks: “What work has to be done?”

The Entrepreneurial Perspective envisions the business in its entirety, from which is derived its parts. The Technician’s Perspective envisions the business in it’s parts, from which is constructed the whole.

And the Manager figures out how to make the Entrepreneur’s vision come to pass.

Fall tees cut & bundled/ partially sewn.

The author proposes that to succeed one must bring all these elements of one’s personality into balance rather than letting the Technician dominate. He also describes with eerie accuracy the arc leading to my burn out years ago.

Cutting blouses for the fall line.

I’ve always laughed about never having written a business plan. The truth is that I’ve been so caught up in the day to day work that I haven’t really thought enough about the future of my current business, Judah Ross. I haven’t completely committed to it. I’ve been unsure, and scared too. There’s a lot on the line, financially and personally.

But it’s also true that I still love what I do. There’s nothing more rewarding than watching a woman try on a garment I’ve designed, and to see her eyes light up.

Fall photo shoot

So while I’ve been busy over the last eight weeks doing the Technician’s work of cutting, and dying, and sewing, of prepping and mailing and organizing, I’ve also been making a little time to dream. What do I want the shape of this business to be? What will my role in it be? How can I do the work that I love without it consuming me? What is it that is truly meaningful to me about the work that I do? Can I get help with it without losing that? Will expanding the business make it more meaningful?

Dyeing 40 yards of fabric for fall skirts.

Order packaged up and ready to go out.

As I meditate on these questions, I can see a shape emerging. It’s still scary, but exciting too. Producing beautifully constructed quality garments with integrity and the help of other hands, building a community as much as a business, selling those clothes directly to the women who enjoy & appreciate them.

Now I’ll need to get to the hard work of figuring out how to get there. A work in progress.

New tags, 100% organic, made in the USA

4 Responses to “Work in Progress”

  1. nerponline

    East Twin, your Fall collection is terrific. There are pieces which appear to my eyes to be completely new, but which have a seriously classic look. And you DESIGN, cut, sew and even DYE fabric for all these items? You’re too much! You’re also absolutely right to look for a way to bring other people into your enterprise. You’ll need to have faith in them, of course, but mostly you’ll require faith in yourself. Don’t worry, though, it’s become more than clear that you really do have what it takes to step up the game.

    Reply
  2. ursula

    agreed ! you may still be looking for that one venue that works for your business but in the meanwhile you’ve been creating an incredible body of work oami. not something to be underestimated. when things do fall into place (and they will .. they are) there’s a whole history of what you can do there.
    i haven’t forgotten those days either. sewing until ungodly hours. always talking shop. i think that was more the fun part though. production crunch times, running out of fabric, learning to deal with lili and annie. this is the stuff that still makes me want to take a year off and putter in the garden:(

    and by the way my vote is open a brick and mortar there in raleigh in the future. what a perfect way to fuse everything you do into one. if you need an investor count me in.

    Reply
  3. Jacquelyn Marie

    Oami, You are so thoughtful about this idea of your own business that you will make it succeed. And so creative and such a hard worker as we all know. Just an idea. Do they have pop-up stores in Raleigh. They seem to be really taking off around here. I went in one that showcased three women’s work and looked just gorgeous. It was on College Ave. a good venue! And on for a weekend or two.

    Reply
  4. ruchapowers

    I think the idea of a pop-up store is genius. Also, I think the care, thoughtfulness and quality of what you make is evident even in that little package, all bundled up and ready to be mailed. How thrilled any woman would be to receive that on her doorstep.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

