Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

April 14th

Today is our mother’s birthday. She would have been 72 years old. Or 72 years young, as it still seems to me that she left us too soon. I love her so much and miss her more with each passing year.

a young Judith - wasnt she stylish and beautiful??

One of her favorite flowers were Iris. And the iris in my garden have been growing so strong and healthy in these last few weeks since Spring has sprung. I wasn’t surprised when I walked outside this morning to find that one had finally opened today – a gorgeous color of purple with streaks of blue – like the sky, or my mother’s eyes.

More stand ready about to burst forth at any moment with their fragile and fleeting beauty .

To honor my mother, we her family worked with the city of Nelson (her hometown for the last twenty five years) to purchase and dedicate a bench which will be installed along the Maitai River walkway in New Zealand. She loved to walk along this river with her partner Graham, watching the changes each season brought to the land and the  rivers eternal flow through it. It seems so fitting that now others will be able to stop at her bench, rest awhile, and do the same.

Mum walking along the Maitai pathway

view of the Maitai River, Nelson NZ

I don”t know exactly where along the Maitai her bench is, or what the view is like,  but if any of our friends or readers in Nelson see it and would like to send in a photo, I’d love to post it here.

(update: My brother Paul Wilson sent these photos of the bench this week. He and Graham had a quiet ‘ceremony’  to commemorate the bench; they scattered some of her ashes nearby and sat and enjoyed a reflective moment. I hear it’s very comfortable (!) and that many of mum’s friends and acquaintances are already planning on visiting it. As my brother said in his message: “now the familiy has a real pyisical connection with Nelson for generations to come “.)


When her family were deciding what to inscribe on the plaque, we went over many different ideas from the the usual ‘in loving memory’ to something more personalized and poetic. In the end we went with her name and dates and the standard wording because as Graham so eloquently put it, “loving memories are what we all share, and although the plaque is small with not too much room for wording, our love is big”.

Our Love is Big.

Judith and Graham on Tahunanui beach, Nelson NZ

Recently though I’ve started researching the Japanese art of Haiku – or saying something very profound into just a few words. I found many that really touched my heart and here is one that I think captures my feelings for my mom. I would like to dedicate this to her today:

ONE FALLEN FLOWER
RETURNING TO THE
BRANCH? … OH NO!
A WHITE BUTTERFLY

(Moritake)

*

A fallen flower. Gone from our lives, but never ever forgotten and always returning to us in the form of  a moment, an inspiration, a fragrant blossom, a flittering white butterfly…

Judith Avril Wilson

1939-2007

4 Responses to “April 14th”

  1. spongey stef

    Birthday Blessings on Judith….
    blessings on u and rucha,the youngest of her brood. I know u grls miss her physical presence. she is proud of u both……..i’m sure.
    xxoosteffy

    Reply
  2. Jacquelyn Marie

    Oh, so beautiful. I hope my Iris, from Oami and Kirk, will bloom this year.

    I have tears in my eyes as I read this paean to Judith, our dear one, who was so loved.

    Reply
  3. Aunt Diana

    Thank you Rucha. A special blog on a special day for a special mother, sister, friend and companion. Love seeing the photos, but as with Jacqueline they bring tears to my eyes.
    xxd

    Reply
  4. Emma Moncrieff

    Lots of love and hugs I send to you and Oami and your family on this Day. All the way from Nelson. xxxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

