Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

And finally, I’m back

EAST TWIN:

Sorry for that little interruption folks, and thank you for your patience and well wishes! It’s been a doosie of a week, with Kirk, myself and poor Grover requiring visits to various health providers. Kirk has been suffering with a persistent gum infection which will eventually require oral surgery. I was felled by a bug of some sort imported from Italy via his employer. It went straight to my lungs and required a course of antibiotics and prednisone which I’m finally finished with. I’m feeling mostly recovered though I’m still scaring small children and flighty animals with my hacking cough. And Grover, well, we’re waiting on test results, so I can’t say for sure, but keep your fingers crossed for him and I will update you when I can.

Between being ill and all of the negotiations, paperwork and drama of our house purchase (we’re now in contract, but still waiting on the inspection and appraisal) I haven’t been able to get much work done, but I was able to sew up a sample of a dress I’ve been thinking about for awhile. I made it in my size, which I don’t usually do, and used some of the stash of antique embroidery that I inherited from my mom. I was pleased with how it turned out and I’m excited about wearing it once the weather really warms up.

And I can feel spring coming, though it’s still bitterly cold most days. My house plants must be feeling it too because they have begun to put out blooms.

I made an appointment for a much needed haircut, and once there decided on the spur of the moment to get a super short cut (another sign of the spring??). I love it so much I asked Kirk to take a picture (I’m even more camera shy than Grover I think) for you all. Thanks Christie, you rock.

Today was the second gorgeous sunny day of the year. Stella and I headed out to Lake Johnson for our Sunday stroll. The parking lots and trails were packed with other folks out enjoying the sun and the lovely golden light.

And of course today is both my father’s birthday (happy birthday dad!) and Superbowl Sunday. So Kirk and I are off to watch the game and eat wings with our friends Liz & Mike. With any luck by the next post we’ll be a week away from being homeowners and I will be able to share pictures and plans for the new place.

 

14 Responses to “And finally, I’m back”

  1. Jacquelyn Marie

    Oami, you look absolutely gorgeous with the new cut and I want to definitely see a photo of you in the new, also gorgeous dress.

    Sorry you all were so ill. I will keep Grover in my Medicine Buddha prayers.
    Hugs.

    Reply
  2. ruchapowers

    well: a) you don’t look at all sick (unless it’s like “girl , that haircut looks so good on you it’s SICK!”) and b) that dress is gorgeous!! Nice photos too…..
    if that’s how you spend a cruddy week of illness then you put even my best weeks to shame. Big hugs!

    Reply
  3. Aunt Diana

    Hooray for the new haircut (so like your ma in the photo), the new dress, the new HOUSE!!!!! and the improved health all round. Fingers still crossed for Grover.
    xx d

    Reply
    • oami powers

      I think my mom had this exact haircut in the 80’s! The inspection for the house is Friday, and hopefully the appraisal will happen this week as well. If everything goes okay, we’ll be closing at the end of the month, so there will be a mad rush to pack up and move….

      Reply
  4. modaspia

    oami !! that dress is BEAUTIFUL ! i never saw that fabric..
    send me a picture of you in it, with your new haircut ( i already told you i’m jealous and you look la bamba). i love all these pictures too. especially the little lake there and the last one of the tree shadows. looks like one of your prints.
    i hope it goes well with the appraisal. still find it funny we are both going through this process pretty much at the same time with the house hunting turned home purchase.
    happy birthday ross!

    Reply
    • oami powers

      If you like it Ursula, it must be a winner. It’s two layers of that black voile you sent me….I’ll have to take a picture of mom’s ribbon stash for you, there are some lovely things in there, like you’d see at Lacis.
      You know in a way it makes sense that we are doing the home buying thing together (from afar), just connected like that 🙂

      Reply
  5. kelly smith-tilly

    First of all, I LOVE your new haircut! It’s really you. And I love the new dress, too (also you). I hope things start to fall into place for you with the new house. First time buying is really stressful. And good health wishes to all.

    Reply
    • oami powers

      Thanks Kelly! Lovely to see you yesterday. If all goes well with the house you’ll have to come over and check it out….Kirk is already planning where to put fruit trees and a chicken coop….

      Reply
  6. Frances Newcross

    Honey, that haircut really makes your big pretty eyes pop. Nothing like a new hairdo to perk you up. I like the dress and the little touches of ribbon. It’s wonderful you can incorporate your Mom’s finds into your creations. Nice to keep a touch of her around. Very glad you and Kirk are on mend. Hope all goes well with Grover. Such a sweetie. Keep us posted. It was 74 degrees here Sat. A new record high. NC looks lovely in your pics. I liked seeing the art museum grounds in your blog in January. Made me go back and look at the pics I took while we were there. Take care. Love.

    Reply
  7. Meg Smither

    Love the hair cut girl. Also love the dress. So when you are ready to start making them give me a call. I think I might want one. ;o) Hope you are on the mend as far as health goes. Take care.

    Reply
  8. oami powers

    Fran: It’s true, the new do is really what I needed after a long month of being ill off and on. Now I just need to get my eyebrows done. I heard from my dad that it was warm there, I’m jealous! I want to wear my new dress and walk outside barefoot…..hurry up spring!!

    Jennifer: I KNOW, it was crazy. Nausea, hot sweats, hyperactivity….ugh. Never been so glad to be done with a medication.

    Meg: Good to hear from you!! I was just thinking about you yesterday. I’ll definitely let you know when I’ve got some of these dresses ready…gotta pay for this house now! Hope all is well with you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

