Two sisters, two coasts, one blog

OBX

EAST TWIN

At the end of September my father and my step mother came to see what all this fuss regarding Raleigh was all about. We showed them around downtown (my dad: “are we downtown? This looks like a park!”), took them to the newly renovated North Carolina Museum of Art, and to historic Oakwood Cemetery. Though not vegetarians per se, they are not ones to indulge in copious meat-eating at home. But they gamely allowed us to make them ribs (well actually that was Kirk) and take them to some of our favorite places to eat; Raleigh Times, Humble Pie, Neil’s Deli, The Players Retreat, and NOFO at the Pig being some of them. After this meat-filled bonanza, Michela was sweet enough to proclaim “I have had the BEST food here!”.

They also happened to arrive during the Capital City Bike Fest, Gay Pride and the grand re-opening of Hillsborough Street (one of the main drags in town, a minefield of renovations and roadwork for over a year) and were thus sleep deprived upon departure despite having tried two different hotels. I may have failed in my hidden agenda to convince them to retire here! Still I think they enjoyed themselves, and can appreciate why we love it so.  During their stay we made an over night trip to the Outer Banks (aka the OBX, proudly proclaimed on bumper stickers, tee-shirts and a plethora of other merchandise):

 

 

Welcome to OBX!

 

Our first stop (after lunch at Bob’s) was the Wrightville Brothers Memorial near Kitty Hawk:

 

 

Ross Powers at the visitors center

 

 

Ross Powers, capturing the geese rampant upon the field. Oh, and that's the memorial itself in the background!

 

 

Me, at the summit.

 

We drove south along Pea Island to Hatteras Island, where the sea and the inlet almost meet, leaving a tiny strip of land not much wider than the road. At the bottom of the island, it makes an abrupt turn west and widens out. This is Cape Hatteras, home to the most popular of the four Outer Banks lighthouses (at least if you go by the amount of  Hatteras themed lawn art in here my Raleigh neighborhood). We stayed at the aptly named Lighthouse Motel, and visited the lighthouse itself in the morning:

 

Home to a family of cats, headed by the patriarch ‘Big Red’
Coronas at dusk
Our view

 

No longer a functional lighthouse, it has been moved inland from it's previous position to protect it from the ocean.

 

The houses were a mix of brightly painted and weather-worn wood. Even the curbs take a beating from the salt and sand.

One of the coolest buildings we saw was the appropriately  desolate Graveyard of the Atlantic Museum. Did you know over 1500 ships have been wrecked off the Outer Banks????

Across the way, a sign telling you the speed limit, just in case you thought of driving 70 on the beach:

We attempted to cross via ferry to Ocracoke Island, but there was something going on with the shoals which was delaying the ferry, and the wait was just too much for us. We headed northward, retracing our steps, turning inland at Whalebone. As we drove west, I noticed how the landscape was changing as we traveled.

 

Marshland

 

 

Pampas

 

 

 

Cotton fields

 

The week after I reluctantly squeezed them good-bye, I got a care package from fellow textile designer Jennifer of Ermie. It was a couple of yards of two of her lovely fabrics for me to play with, plus some other little goodies all put together beautifully. It was so pretty I just had to take a picture:

Since then I have been working away furiously on fall pieces for NOFO. I went in to drop them off, and Alice showed me the ad that they took out in the fall issue of Triangle Style featuring my Tulum tank:

Thanks ladies!!!

K’s folks are here this week, and we are off to Asheville for a couple of days, details to come!

 

 

 

14 Responses to “OBX”

  1. ruchapowers

    I definately want an OBX bumper sticker! Looks like a fun place to ride bikes. Beach holiday with the boys?? Congrats on the ad, the tank looks great!! Have fun in Asheville….take pix.
    xo

    Reply
    • oami powers

      Darned iPhone, tried to leave a reply while we were on the road to no avail:(

      Anyway, yes, that’s what I was thinking: a family holiday on OBX. They have tons of rental houses, some sleep up to 15 people.

      I took over 200 pictures in Asheville, gotta winnow them down before the next post!!

      Reply
  2. Jacquelyn Marie

    Sounds like all went very well! Love your shirt on the ad (3 cheers!!!)

    I would love to visit the outer banks. Not sure when but maybe in the spring???? Love

    Reply
    • oami powers

      I’ll check to see what the weather is like out there in spring..maybe late spring? I bet you are looking forward to Costa Rica in November….

      Reply
  3. Aunt Diana

    Oh, another fascinating glimpse into twin lives and surroundings. Thanks so much (and for the wonderful visual aides from each). Helps bring you and yours closer. And such achievements all round. Atta-gals!

    Reply
    • oami powers

      I really owe you a long email Aunt Diana…life is nutso until November, so it will have to wait til then unless I just stop sleeping…..which is entirely possible. xxxooo

      Reply
  4. Modaspia

    That lighthouse! Awesome, however did they move it? Like the others, I would like to come and eat some ribs together 🙂

    You forgot to mention your sale! People are Going nuts over there huh!

    Reply
    • oami powers

      You’re right! AND I neglected to mention that a lot of those folks found out about it via your blog…thanks!! Come on over anytime…I might not let you leave though..

      Reply
  5. spongeystef...queen of the long run-on sentence

    hi ms. zia!!
    so glad 2 have a glimpse into the life of my furiously creative artist-pal….
    yes, yes, count me& davey in to come scarf animal products with u & the hubs someday in future!! I lived in VA. 4 a short time as a youngster and really like that side o’ the country… will hafta make a tour of the lovely states in that part of the world xxoo steffy

    Reply
  6. Norman Ross Powers

    East twin, it’s so good to think that you might like to have your aged, retired parents living near you in Raleigh. There’s a big problem, though. I’ve looked at a couple of photos taken during our visit of myself in shorts (of course, everyone wears them because of the heat) and they’re not pretty pictures. Bony knees ‘R me, I’m afraid. So, if we were living in the area–perhaps in Durham–I would need a specially designed wardrobe of light- fabric long trousers as though I were some southern gentleman planter. You know, there’s probably a very good reason why Colonel Saunders is never shown wearing shorts.

    Reply
  7. Norman Ross Powers

    Also, I liked the pix in your OBX post showing the changes in landscape during the trip; cotton fields, wetlands, salt-water bayous and sand dunes. And, no, actually, I didn’t know that as many as 1500 ships were lost at sea around the Outer Banks. Wow. I thought it was a few hundred.

    Reply
    • oami powers

      I didn’t either, but that’s what the Graveyard of the Atlantic website told me! Pretty amazing. And just for the record, you’d look great in a pair of linen trousers 🙂

      Reply
  8. fran

    Hey, those photos and info are great! Love the insight into that part of your new state. That on top of what all you two gracious hosts showed us gives us food for reminiscing. Along with all the good food you provided. You and west twin are doing good at this blogging thing. Interesting subjects and impressive photos.Thanx and thanx!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

